1. Blue Meanies, The Post Wave (MCA)

2. Common, Like Water for Chocolate (MCA)

3. D’Angelo, Voodoo (Virgin)

4. Everlast, Eat At Whitey’s (Tommy Boy)

5. P.J. Olsson, Words for Living (C2 Records)

6. Queens of the Stone Age, Rated R (Interscope)

7. Screeching Weasel, Teen Punks In Heat (Panic Button/Lookout!)

8. The Smashing Pumpkins, Machina/The Machines of God (Virgin);

The Smashing Pumpkins, Machina II/The Friends and Enemies of Modern Music (Smashing Pumpkins)

9. Mary Timony, Mountains (Matador)

10. Veruca Salt, Resolver (Beyond)



AC/DC, Stiff Upper Lip (Elektra)

Adventures In Stereo, Monomania (Bobsled)

Air, Original Motion Picture Score for The Virgin Suicides (Astralwerks)

...And You Will Know Us By the Trail of Dead, Madonna (Merge)

Apples In Stereo, The Discovery of a World Inside… (SPINart)

Ass Ponys, Some Stupid With A Flare Gun (Checkered Past)

Erykah Badu, Mama’s Gun (Motown)

Beachwood Sparks, Beachwood Sparks (Sub Pop)

The Bell Rays, Let It Blast (Vital Gesture)

Bettie Serveert, Private Suit (Parasol)

Birdie, Some Dusty (Kindercore)

The Blacks, Just Like Home (Bloodshot)

Neko Case & Her Boyfriends, Furnace Room Lullaby (Bloodshot)

Johnny Cash, Solitary Man (American)

Cash Audio, Green Bullet (Touch and Go)

Caviar, Caviar (Island)

Julian Cope, An Audience With the Cope (Head Heritage)

Graham Coxon, The Golden D (Transcopic/Caroline)

Crowbar, Equilibrium (Spitfire)

Cupcakes, Cupcakes (Dreamworks)

The Cure, Bloodflowers (Elektra)

Holger Czukay, La Luna (Tone Casualties)

Damon & Naomi with Ghost, Damon & Naomi with Ghost (Sub Pop)

The Dandy Warhols, Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia (Capitol)

Richard Davies, Barbarians (Kindercore)

De La Soul, Art Official Intelligence: Mosaic Thump (Tommy Boy)

Diana Darby, Naked Time (Delmore)

Departure Lounge, Out of There (Flydaddy)

Dimitri from Paris, A Night at the Playboy Mansion (Astralwerks)

Steve Earle, Transcendental Blues (E-Squared/Artemis)

Einstürzende Neubauten, Silence Is Sexy (Mute)

Elastica, The Menace (Atlantic)

Electric Frankenstein, Dawn of Electric Frankenstein (Triple X)

Electric Frankenstein, How to Make A Monster (Victory)

Eleventh Dream Day, Stalled Parade (Thrill Jockey)

Gloria Estefan, Alma Caribena (Epic)

The Eyeliners, Here Comes Trouble (Panic Button/Lookout)

Flying Saucer Attack, Mirror (Drag City)

Frisbie, The Subversive Sounds of Love (Hear Diagonally)

FSK, International (Catamount)

The Gaza Strippers, Laced Candy (Man’s Ruin)

The Get Up Kids, Something to Write Home About (Vagrant)

Gov’t Mule, Life Before Insanity (Capricorn)

Grandaddy, The Sophtware Slump (V2)

Groovie Ghoulies, Travels With My Amp (Lookout!)

Guster, Lost and Gone Forever (Sire)

Halford, Resurrection (Metal/BMG)

The Handsome Family, In the Air (Carrot Top)

Grant Hart, Good News for Modern Man (Pachyderm Records)

High On Fire, The Art of Self Defense (Man’s Ruin)

Robyn Hitchcock, A Star for Bram (Editions PAF!)

Jets to Brazil, Four Cornered Night (Jade Tree)

David Johansen and the Harry Smiths, David Johansen and the Harry Smiths (Chesky Records)

Nash Kato, Debutante (Loosegroove)

Kid Million, American Tabloid (The Sweet Science)

Kid Rock, The History of Rock (Atlantic)

King Biscuit Time, No Style (Astralwerks)

King Crimson, The ConstrucKtion of Light (Virgin)

Kittie, Spit (Artemis/NG)

Knoxville Girls, Knoxville Girls (In the Red)

Macabre, Dahmer (Decomposed)

Madonna, Music (Maverick/Warner Bros.)

Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. and Brian Reitzell, Logan’s Sanctuary: Original Soundtrack (Emperor Norton)

Life On Mars, Life On Mars (Parasol)

J Mascis + the Fog, More Light (Ultimatum/Artemis)

Master Musicians of Jajouka, Master Musicians of Jajouka (Point/Universal)

The Mekons, Journey to the End of the Night (Quarterstick)

The Melvins, The Crybaby (Ipecac)

Mest, Wasting Time (Maverick)

The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Pay Attention (Island Def Jam)

Chris Mills, Kiss It Goodbye (Sugar Free)

Russell Mills/Undark, Pearl + Umbra (Instinct)

Morcheeba, Fragments of Freedom (Sire)

Nashville Pussy, High As Hell (TVT)

New Bomb Turks, Nightmare Scenario (Epitaph)

The New Pornographers, Mass Romantic (Mint)

Nico Vs. Trance Groove, Reich Der Träume (innerSPACE)

North Mississippi All Stars, Shake Hands With Shorty (Tone-Cool)

Oasis, Standing on the Shoulder of Giants” (Epic)

Sinead O’Connor, Faith and Courage (Atlantic)

Old 97’s, Early Tracks (Blood Shot)

The Olivia Tremor Control, Presents: Singles and Beyond (Kindercore)

Optiganally Yours Presents: Exclusively Talentmaker! (Absolutely Kosher)

Orange Goblin, The Big Black (The Music Cartel)

Joan Osborne, Righteous Love (Interscope)

Outkast, Stankonia (Arista)

Papas Fritas, Buildings and Grounds (Minty Fresh)

Phish, Farmhouse (Elektra)

Pinetop Seven, Bringing Home the Last Great Strike (Self-Help/Truckstop)

Matt Piucci, Hellenes (Inbetweens)

PJ Harvey, Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea (Island)

Planes Mistaken for Stars, Knife in the Marathon (Deep Elm)

Primal Scream, XTRMNTR (Astralwerks)

The Promise Ring, Very Emergency (Jade Tree)

The Queers, Beyond the Valley… (Hopeless)

Radiohead, Kid A (Capitol)

Rancid, Rancid (Hellcat/Epitaph)

Kimberly Rew, Tunnel Into Summer (Gadfly)

Radio 4, The New Song and Dance (Gern Blandsten)

Janice Robinson, The Color Within Me (Warner Bros.)

Saint Etienne, Sound of Water (Sub Pop)

The Satyrs, The Satyrs (Black Dog Records)

Screeching Weasel, Thank You Very Little (Panic Button)

Señor Coconut Y Su Conjunto, El Baile Aleman (Fanatic)

Sheavy, Celestial Hi-Fi (The Music Cartel)

Shivaree, I Oughta Give You A Shot in the Head for Making Me Live in This Dump (Capitol/Odeon)

The Smoking Popes, Live (Double Zero)

Jill Sobule, Pink Pearl (Beyond)

The Squirrels, The Not So Bright Side of the Moon (Pop Llama)

Stereolab, The First of the Microbe Hunters (Elektra)

Stereo Total, Juke-Box Alarm (Bobsled)

Stew, Guest Host (Telegraph)

The Suicide Machines, The Suicide Machines (Hollywood)

The Sunshine Fix, The Future History of A Sunshine Fix (Kindercore)

Super Furry Animals, Mwng (Flydaddy)

Kirk Swan, It’s About Time (Blue Rose)

Tadpoles, Whirlaway (Camera Obscura)

Teen Idols, Full Leather Jacket (Honest Don’s)

The Twilight Singers, Twilight (Columbia)

U2, All That You Can’t Leave Behind (Interscope)

Waco Brothers, Electric Waco Chair (Bloodshot)

The Waxwings, Low to the Ground (Bobsled)

Ween, White Pepper (Elektra)

Shannon Wright, Maps of Tacit (Quarterstick)

Wyclef Jean, The Ecleftic—2 Sides II A Book (Columbia)

Yo La Tengo, And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside-Out (Matador)


Various artists, Caroline Now! The Songs of Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys (Marina Recordings)

Various artists, Just What This World Needs: A Tribute to Material Issue (Veronica Records)

Various artists, Machine Soul: An Odyssey Into Electronic Dance Music (Rhino)

Various artists, Original Soundtrack: High Fidelity (Hollywood)

Various artists, Ohm: The Early Gurus of Electronic Music: 1948—1980 (Ellipsis Arts)

Various artists, The Powerpuff Girls: Heroes & Villains (Cartoon Network/Rhino)